Space Jams | Jordan XI

Picture by Airbutchie

The Air Jordan 11 (XI) Original (OG) – Space Jams (Black / Varsity Royal – White) were created as exclusive pairs for Michael in his movie Space Jam, which was released in 1996. Only five pairs were known to exist. As opposed to the ironed-on “23″ at the back heel like the 2001 retros, these were stitched on, and the Jumpman logo was actually purple. This deadstock pair was auctioned by Platinumgold24k on eBay Feb 2004 for US$11,100. Another pair that was auctioned by k_town_hu$tler on Feb 22, 2004 was apparently game-worn by MJ during the first part of filming for the movie. He actually obtained his pair in a trade with MJ’s personal stylist from the movie, in exchange for a car (Honda Civic). The Air Jordan 11 (XI) features specifications such as a carbon fiber spring plate, ballistic nylon uppers, a Huarache inner sleeve, quick lace system, carbon fiber sheath and air sole.

__________________

I have been a shoe head since I was 10 years old.  I got my first Jordans in 1989.  Ah yeah Black/Cement Grey Jordan IV.  I remember the first kid in school to rock them @ Quimby Oaks Jr. High in  San Jose, California. I was a BMX/Surfer styled kid but loved the shoe addiction.  I may have spent my days riding around on my BMX and spent my weekends surfing with my friends from my boyscout troop but  I still enjoyed watching Jordan and the Chicago Bulls make history.  I loved looking fresh and just kickin it.  I don’t know whats up with the shoe game now. It’s just boring and nothing innovative is coming out.  This picture is great and I wish I had an OG pair of these.  Maybe one day I’ll come up on some. Even if they were 11,000 dollars! I can add to my collection. – LFD

~ by littlefluffyduck on March 30, 2011.

One Response to “Space Jams | Jordan XI”

  1. Those are NOT the original XI SJ’s! The Originals were Blk/Wht/Dark Concord.

Leave a Reply

 
